Constituency Session

Southwest Region Conference Elects Officers and Directors
October 23, 2019

BURLESON, TEX. – The 25th Regular Session and Fourth Quadrennial Session of the Southwest Region Conference convened Sept. 21-22, 2019 in Keene, Tex. The session opened Saturday evening with powerful praise and worship music before a moving message was presented by Office of Regional Conference Ministry Director Dana Edmond.

The business session followed as the meeting was called to order, quorum was met and 611 delegates and delegates-at-large were seated. The minutes of the 2015 Constituency Session were reviewed and approved. The meeting ended with a benediction and the delegates were dismissed for the evening.

On Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019, Northeastern Conference President Daniel Honoré presented the devotional message during the worship session.

Delegates received a comprehensive administration and departmental report book in their packets that detailed the work and accomplishments of the conference over the last quadrennium. Interview-style videos were presented for each of the three executive officers during their administrative reports. Some takeaways from the 2015-2019 reports included: 3,062 baptisms with a net increase in membership growth of 1,792; an overall tithe gain increase of 3.7%; a reduction of $1,253,940 in revolving fund debt; major improvements at Lone Star Camp that have contributed to an increase in value of the property from $5,996,634 to $7,172,780, as well as the camp being awarded American Camp Association Accreditation in 2018.

The executive officers expressed gratitude to the members, ministers and teachers of the Southwest Region Conference across the five-state territory for their sacrifice and diligent work in ministry. Leadership and delegates praised God for the blessings reported.

Southwestern Union President Larry R. Moore recognized the Southwest Region Conference Nominating Committee and thanked the members for their hard work. The Nominating Committee report was read and voted, and the following positions were confirmed.

Officers: President, Calvin L. Watkins, Sr.; Executive Secretary, Stephen Brooks; Treasurer, Philip G. Palmer.

Departmental Directors: Youth Director, Carl Ming; Community Services/Inner City Director, Durandel Ford, Sr.; Church Ministries, Personal Ministries Director and Sabbath School Director, Charles Sanders; General Field Secretary and Diversity Ministries Director, Vanston Archbold; Education Superintendent, Buford Griffith, III; Family Ministries Director, W.S. Lee, Jr.; Public Affairs and Religious Liberty Director, Kerwin Jones; Stewardship Director, Oswaldo Hernandez.

Children’s Ministries Director, Communication Director, Ministerial Director, Health Director, Young Adult Director, Evangelism Coordinator, as well as associate director positions were referred to the Southwest Region Conference Executive Committee.

After discussion, four of the five amendments proposed by the Southwest Region Conference Constitution and Bylaws Committee were approved.

Three new congregations were voted into the sisterhood of churches: Emory Spanish Company, Shekinah Company and Sulphur Springs Spanish Company. A list of several congregations came before the delegates for a vote of disbandment and/or membership merged with other congregations. Delegates voted to disband 10 congregations from 2011-2015, and eight congregations from 2015-2018.

The session came to a close with a prayer over the officers and departmental leadership of the Southwest Region Conference. May God continue to bless and guide the ministry of the Southwest Region Conference in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and across the world.

By Kristina Pascual Busch, Managing Editor

Read the full constituency report online at