Education Awards

Recognizing Our Outstanding Teachers and Leaders
October 29, 2020

BURLESON, TEX. – Each year the Southwestern Union recognizes excellence among its nearly 350 educators from the elementary and secondary levels with the Excellence in Teaching Award. To qualify for this award, a teacher must demonstrate proficiency in a number of criteria related to teaching and learning. 

In appreciation for their outstanding work in teaching and demonstrated dedication to helping students in the Southwestern Union learn, these educators are awarded $500, along with a certificate and a plaque.

The Southwestern Union Education Department is pleased to present the Excellence in Teaching Award recipients for the 2019-2020 school year: 

Elementary Awards: Mary Womack, Arkansas-Louisiana Conference; Audrey Fabriga, Oklahoma Conference; TiAngela Williams, Southwest Region Conference; Romina Regalado and Josh Samaniego, Texas Conference; Juanita Camacho, Texico Conference.

Academy Awards: Meredith Mooney, Burton Adventist Academy; Sarah Shepherd, Parkview Adventist Academy.

In 2020, a new award was presented, the Excellence in Leadership Award, which is given to administrative staff at the elementary and secondary levels. Recipients are also awarded $500, along with a certificate and a plaque. The recipient of the Excellence in Leadership Award for 2019-2020 is Mike Dale, principal of Ozark Adventist Academy.